School Board Recommendations


The following recommendations for bonds, overrides, and school board candidates come from local association leaders and members. 

County Superintendent Candidate Questionnaire Responses

  • Maricopa Candidate responses 
    Maricopa County superintendent race focuses on school board politics, education funding, Arizona Republic, October 3, 2016
  • Pima Candidate responses
    Pima County school superintendent candidates tackle tough issues, Arizona Daily Star, September 25, 2016

Alhambra District Education Association recommends Garthanne De Ocampo, Adam Lopez Falk, and Tanairi Ochoa-Martinez for Alhambra Elementary School Board.

Amphitheater Education Association supports the Bond and recommends Julie Cozad (past Marana Education Association President) and Mick Stewart (Sunnyside Education Association member) for the Amphitheater Unified School Board.

Cartwright Education Association recommends Marissa Hernandez, Denice Martha Garcia, and Rosa Cantu for Cartwright Elementary School Board.

Casa Grande Elementary Education Association supports the Bond for Casa Grande Elementary School District.

Casa Grande Education Association recommends Connie Dolezal, Daniel Miller, and Nancy Hawkins for Casa Grande Union School Board.

Cave Creek Education Association recommends Janet Busbee, Kathryn Hill, and James Rich for the Cave Creek Unified School Board.

Chandler Education Association recommends Barbara Mozdzen, Karen Bredeson, and David Evans for Chandler Unified School Board.

Coconino Community College Education Association supports Prop 410, the M&O Override. 

Creighton Education Association supports the Creighton Elementary School District Bond and recommends Alys Casperson (AEA Retired member), Joseph Hattrick, Jeanne Casteen, and Annette Sexton-Ruiz for School Board.

Deer Valley Education Association recommends Jennie Paperman (Glendale Education Association member), Darcy Tweedy (past DVEA member), Jenny Frank (past DVEA member), and Greg Gregoire for the Deer Valley Unified School Board.

Flagstaff Education Association recommends Carole Gilmore, Danielle Lawrence, and Kara Kelty for Flagstaff Unified School Board. 

Gilbert Education Association recommends Reed Carr, Lily Tram, and Sheila Rogers for Gilbert Unified School Board.

Glendale Education Association recommends Mary Ann Wilson, Jamie Aldama, and Monica Gallardo Pimentel for Glendale Elementary School Board.

Isaac District Education Association recommends Rudy R. Santa Cruz and Maria Guzman for the Isaac Elementary School Board.

Lake Havasu City Education Association supports the Lake Havasu Unified School District Bond and Override and recommends Kathy Cox for the School Board.

Madison District Classroom Teachers Association recommends Matt Gress, Sarah Speer, and Scott Holcomb for the Madison Elementary School Board.

Marana Education Association supports the Marana Unified School District Override.

Maricopa Education Association supports the Maricopa Unified School District Override.

Mesa Education Association recommends Dank Hink, Kiana Sears, Steven Peterson, Michael Nichols, and Elaine Minor for Mesa Unified School Board.

Professional Educators of Nogales recommend Greg Lucero, Manny Ruiz, and Barbara Mendoza (write-in candidate) for Nogales Unified School Board. 

Osborn Education Association recommends Juan Carlos Flamand, Maxine Radtke, and Samuel Richard for the Osborn Elementary School Board.

Paradise Valley Education Association recommends Nancy Case, Anne Greenberg, and Sue Skidmore for Paradise Valley Unified School Board.

Peoria Education Association supports the Peoria Unified School District Bond.

Phoenix Elementary Classroom Teachers Association recommends Susan Benjamin, Angel Jannusch Pennell, and Louisa Stark for Phoenix Elementary School Board.

Pima Community College Education Association has published candidate responses to their questionnaire on their website at

Roosevelt Education Association recommends Nancy Pina-Gray for Roosevelt Elementary School Board.

Sahuarita Education Association supports the Sahuarita Unified School District Bond and Capital Override.

Santa Cruz Valley Education Association supports the Santa Cruz Valley Unified School District M&O Override.

Scottsdale Education Association supports the Scottsdale Unified School District Bond and Override.

Sierra Vista Classroom Teachers Association supports the Sierra Vista Unified School District Bond.

Tempe Elementary Education Association supports the Tempe Elementary School District Bond.

Tucson Education Association recommends Kristel Foster (Sunnyside EA member) and Cam Juarez for Tucson Unified School Board.

Washington District Education Association supports the Washington Elementary School District Bond and recommends Clorinda Graziano, Tee Lambert, and Aaron Jahneke for the School Board.